The sisters of St.Joseph of cluny were founded by Anne
Marie Javouhey, a woman who lived in a little village called Chamblanc in France. the first sisters to arrive in St.Lucia
in 1855 were the Filles de Marie. They joined with the sisters of St.Joseph of Cluny in 1854 for training in trinidad. The
sisters established a school on Brogile street where the Ave Maria School is presently located. The school remained there
for over 100 years but was destroyed by a fire in August 1959. The sisters were able to relocate the building t its present
site at Cedars in 1961 with the help of generous benefactors. The sisters celebrated their 150th anniversary since their arrival
in St.Lucia last year, 2004.